Effin’ and blindin’ as a literary style

[Originally published 16 November 2012]

I’ve been working on my novel, King’s Ransom. One of the strange things I have noticed – apart from all of the political and social changes that have taken place since I first wrote it – is the amount of swearing I incorporated in the original. I do swear, rather too much, and I suppose there are naturally elements of me in the hero. Even so, I am going through and cutting it right down to an essential minimum: ie, he swears in anger or frustration, rather than as a means of punctuation. Making him nothing like me at all.

I still don’t know whether I will publish it, but I am enjoying the editing process anyway.

Leave a comment

Filed under King's Ransom, Writing

Leave a Reply

