Reflections on a week of book promotion

[Originally published 16 April 2013]

Well, I am a week into promoting King’s Ransom. I’ve sent the link to everyone on my various mailing lists, and I already have a couple of friendly reviews. However, it’s now very clear to me that I should have put a lot more thought into the promotion planning before I published. Stupid really, because I keep telling clients that before a product is launched you need to have a clear idea of how you are going to promote it. It’s ridiculous to devote all of the available resources to production without thinking about the product marketing. Meet Mr Stupid.

Fortunately, it’s not too late. One of the key things is to get an author’s blog started, and I am going to copy all of these blogs from my copywriting website to a dedicated author’s blog. I’m also going to set up various other avenues, which I will talk about at more length in the weeks and months to come.

For all that, I am really pleased with the first week. Early days, of course, but I am getting there.

2 Comments

Filed under King's Ransom, Writing

2 responses to “Reflections on a week of book promotion

  1. I myself and thinking of myriads or ways to do book promotion pre-release. I know the contract manager for my publisher will be in charge of the big stuff, but I am in charge of the social media stuff, and you’ve made me realize I need to get a list done of things I can do to draw attention. Weekly book giveaways is one thing I’m doing.

    • I think you are very wise to think about pre-release promotion, and it is particularly important to plan – something I failed to do. As I explained, I would have been appalled if any of my marketing communications clients had done what I did – launch a product without planning the promotion – and I’ve been playing catch-up for the past few weeks. You are right about social media: in addition to this blog, I post on various book-specific social-media sites such as Goodreads, and I use Twitter and LinkedIn. I’m also going to start a Facebook page – though I loath Facebook. I am not sure about book giveaways, because King’s Ransom is an eBook, but I may change my mind about that.

      I will be doing a post in about a month, when I will talk about the promotion I have done, and offer some insights into what I have learned. Watch this space (yet again!)

Leave a Reply

