And a kindness of brother-in-law

As I have mentioned previously, my brother-in-law Peter – pedant-in-residence and all-round good-guy – was immensely helpful when I was writing King’s Ransom, carefully reading the draft, and picking up sundry mistakes and inconsistencies.

Unfortunately, I have not asked him to do a similar job on my blog, which is a pity because once I published the previous post he emailed me, pointing out that “awkwardly, a group of ravens is an ‘unkindness’ of ravens, not a kindness.” He’s correct, of course, so black-mark Wilson for not checking.

In my own defence, I am still going to cherish “a kindness” as the collective noun for all the people – including Peter – who helped me get King’s Ransom published.

Leave a comment

Filed under King's Ransom, Writing

Leave a Reply

